My Recovery is Going Fantastically

I know I haven’t posted in a while, and that’s for a few different reasons. For one thing, I’ve been going to school and the gym a lot more than before, and I’m feeling really good. I still have a few aches and pains all the time, and a little bit of stinging and lost mobility, but beyond that and headaches I’m doing alright.

I’ve also started managing the freerunning and parkour team “Kinema”. It’s a student team in Madison Wisconsin. Most student organizations and teams are iffy at best and downright terrible at worst, but these guys are an exception. If they weren’t good, I wouldn’t be managing them, after all! Their YouTube channel is here, their twitter handle is @KinemaF. One of the guys is even a gymnastics coach! I mean jeez, how cool is that?

I’ve been shooting and editing their videos, managing their events, and their finances. To be honest, parkour and freerunning are like blogging. You don’t go into it expecting to make money, you go into it because you want to do it. And if you you’re one of the lucky few to get recognized and end up with a lot of exposure, making money is the icing on the cake.

Speaking of money, something cool about wordpress is that unless you self host through WordPress.org and then register your domain through another third party like godaddy, you can’t put ads on or monetize your blog! This works for and against you. You know that the many writers who review products are impartial, and you know that you will be presented with a clean, organized interface. Unfortunately, this same advantage is the reason that groups looking for a free or low cost interface to advertise themselves and earn revenue from can’t use WordPress.com. When you start up, be sure to take this into account. For this reason, I’ve moved my main blog from WordPress to blogspot, at the link AthleticZen.blogspot.com. I want to have the flexibility that that provides, but I’m going to miss the interface and templates offered by WordPress.

One thought on “My Recovery is Going Fantastically

Leave a Reply

